Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content

2019 Tennessee 4-H County Dairy Promotion Contest



The Tennessee County Dairy Promotion Contest is sponsored by The Dairy Alliance. This contest provides 4-H members with experiences to build skills in project areas such as communications, computers and technology, dairy, leadership, citizenship, consumer education/economics, nutrition/health/fitness and food science.
Every county in Tennessee has the opportunity to name a dairy promotion chairperson. The chairperson and their 4-H agent will be invited to the June Dairy Month Kick-off luncheon in Middle TN on May 30, 2019. This event is designed to honor the chairpersons and give them ideas for their promotions.


1. One 4-H member is eligible to be named the County Dairy Promotion Chairperson. Past winners are ineligible to win state prizes again.
2. Activities are to be completed by June 30, 2019.
3. To compete for state awards, a dairy promotion activity report must be mailed for judging no later than July 31, 2019 (postmarked). The report, in the form of a scrapbook (approximately 12" x 12") should be an organized documentation of the promotion, including pictures, newspaper articles and other descriptive materials. The summary report should be completed and included on the inside front cover of the scrapbook.

Winning scrapbooks will be kept with the Dairy Alliance for one year for a traveling display, then returned.

         Mail scrapbook to:
         Denise Jones
        175 George Beaven Road
         Loretto, KY 40037

The scrapbook must be postmarked no later than Friday, July 31, 2019. Judging will be done by qualified persons in the fields of public relations and advertising. Winners will be notified immediately following the judging.


Criteria for Winning Overall Awards

70% - Community promotion activities: Chairperson's promotion kit will include activity ideas to use with adults and children. Document the effectiveness of your promotion by including pictures, letters, copies of programs, etc. in your scrapbook. Use of the June Dairy Month theme should be visible.
10% - Use of radio and TV: Please visit our Web site at for information to use with radio and TV. To document PSA use, ask the radio station for a letter verifying the number of PSA's used and the total air time devoted to them in June. If you submit your own PSA's, extreme care must be taken to insure that information you provide is accurate.
10% - Use of newspaper: Please visit our Web site at for information to use with newspapers. You are encouraged to submit your own articles and photos to spotlight local dairy farmers and the local dairy industry. Extreme care must be taken to insure that information you provide is accurate. For documentation, include newspaper tear sheets with name of paper and date clearly visible.
10% - Scrapbook presentation: Scrapbooks should be neat, well-organized and should effectively document your promotion during June. Art work and special effects are not required.


Participation Award - Exclusive Polo Shirt

Each chairperson who documents a satisfactory project by returning a scrapbook of activities will receive an exclusive golf shirt designed for county 4-H dairy promotion chairpersons.

Media Award - $250

There will be one state award given to the chairperson who documents the best use of the media in their county. That might include use of radio public service announcements (PSA's), newspaper articles and TV coverage of events, among other efforts.

Best Use of Theme Award - $250

The 2019 June Dairy Month theme is: "Dairy is in our DNA." The chairperson who wins this state award will document wide use of the 2019 June Dairy month theme in activities throughout June.

3 Overall State Awards - $500 for chairperson
$200 for their local 4-H activity fund


There will be an overall winner in each of 3 divisions, based on opportunities for media exposure (see Groupings of Counties for Awards by media outlet below).

         Division I - Counties with no more than 2 media outlets (radio/newspaper)
         Division II - Counties with 3 to 4 media outlets (radio/newspaper)
         Division III - Counties with 5 or more media outlets (radio/newspaper)


Each county chairperson's activities will be judged against only those counties in their designated group. Only radio stations or newspapers based in your county can be used. Exceptions can be made requesting special permission for SUDIA.


Groupings of Counties for Awards

For this contest's purposes, commercial radio stations as well as commercial newspapers are counted as media. A station having both AM and FM broadcasts, but under the same ownership, will be treated as one station. If you believe your county is in the wrong category, please contact the SUDIA office immediately so we can change your category if necessary.         
         Division I (Counties with 2 or less media) - Bedford, Benton, Bledsoe, Cannon, Carter, Cheatham, Chester, Clay, Crockett, Decatur, DeKalb, 
         Fayette, Grainger, Greene, Grundy, Hancock, Haywood, Henderson, Hickman, Houston, Humphreys, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Lake, Lewis,    
         Loudon, McNairy, Meigs, Monroe, Moore, Morgan, Perry, Pickett, Polk, Rhea, Roane, Robertson, Sequatchie, Smith, Stewart, Tipton, Trousdale, 
         Unicoi, Union, Van Buren, Wayne, Weakley and White ion, Van Buren, Wayne, Weakley and White Van Buren, Wayne, Weakley and White
         Division II (Counties with 3-4 media) - Anderson, Blount, Bradley, Campbell, Carroll, Claiborne, Cocke, Cumberland, Dickson, Dyer, Fentress, 
         Franklin, Giles, Hamblen, Hardeman, Hardin, Hawkins, Henry, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Lincoln, Macon, Marion, Marshall, Maury, McMinn, 
         Montgomery, Obion, Overton, Putnam, Rutherford, Scott, Sevier and Warren
         Division III Counties with 5 or more media) - Coffee, Davidson, Gibson, Hamilton, Knox, Madison, Shelby, Sullivan, Sumner, Washington,
         Williamson and WilsonWilliamson and Wilson

 Related Links