Hippology Contest


  1. There will be two age divisions:
    1. Junior (4th-8th grades)
    2. Senior (9th-12th grades)
  2. The contest has three separate, but equal parts.
    1. Part I: Written test – Questions will come from the Tennessee 4-H Horse Bowl Handbook.
    2. Part II: Identification – “The Horse Industry Handbook” is a reference for this part.
    3. Part III: Horse judging – Two classes of horses will be judged.
  3. Individuals who have been members of the state senior division first place team will not be eligible to compete in the State Hippology Contest in future years.
  4. Four junior and four senior teams from each region may compete in the state contest.
  5. The champion senior team is eligible to compete in Eastern National Contest in Louisville, Kentucky at their own expense.