Tennessee 4-H County Dairy Promotion Contest

The Tennessee County Dairy Promotion Contest is sponsored by The Dairy Alliance. This contest provides 4-H members with experiences to build skills in project areas such as communications, computers and technology, dairy, leadership, citizenship, consumer education/economics, nutrition/health/fitness, and food science.

There are some adjustments to this activity due to the current changes in how we interact as a result of COVID-19. To continue this opportunity in 2020, we are asking chairpersons to think outside the box and utilize social media, video, photos, cooking demos, and virtual interviews with your local newspapers, radio stations, and other groups. Make it fun! Also new for this year is the ability to submit a virtual scrapbook for judging. The traditional scrapbook may also be submitted if the chairperson prefers. Please note the 2020 June Dairy Month Kick-off luncheon will NOT be held this year as the UT Extension cannot host in-person meetings through July.

  • One 4-H member is eligible to be named the County Dairy Promotion chairperson. The deadline for each county to name their chairperson is May 25, 2020. Past winners are ineligible to win state prizes again.
  • A dairy promotion activity report for June Dairy Month should be submitted in the form of a scrapbook (approximately 12 X 12), a PowerPoint or a PDF document. The scrapbook MUST:
    • be submitted as an organized documentation of the promotion including pictures, newspaper articles, and other descriptive materials.
    • be completed using resources citing social media promotions and resources prior to the end of June of the current year.
    • include the summary report (available at the link below) completed and inserted inside the front cover.
  • All submissions must be postmarked or emailed for judging no later than July 31, 2020. (Late entries will not be eligible to win state awards.) Judging will be done by qualified persons from the dairy industry. Winners will be notified immediately following the judging.
  • Winning scrapbooks will be in the possession of The Dairy Alliance for one year to use for display and promotional purposes before being returned.

Denise Jones
175 George Beaven Road
Loretto, KY 40037
(Mailing address is for scrapbooks only)

15% Appearance
Cover should be eye-catching and attractive (5%). Photographs and/or illustrations with arrangement and relevance to promotion activities and quality (10%).
70% Contents
Chairperson Summary Report on page 1 and easy to follow (5%). Effective presentation of promotional ,efforts through community efforts (30%), media/social media efforts (20%) and newspaper/radio/TV efforts (15%).
10% Arrangement
Layout shows creativity and consistency, good use of space, and good mix of pictures, text, and advertisements (10%). Test and printing are easy to read with no glaring errors in grammar or spelling (5%).

Participation Award – Exclusive Polo Shirt

Each chairperson who documents a satisfactory project by returning a scrapbook of activities will receive an exclusive golf shirt designed for county 4-H dairy promotion chairpersons.

Media Award – $250.00

There will be one (1) state award given to the chairperson who documents the best use of the media in their county. That might include use of radio public service announcements (PSA’s), newspaper articles and TV coverage of events, among other efforts.

Best Use of Theme Award – $250.00

The 2020 June Dairy Month theme is: “The Art of Dairy.” The chairperson who wins this state award will document wide use of the 2020 June Dairy Month theme in activities throughout June.

Three Overall State Awards

  • $500.00 for chairperson
  • $200.00 for their local 4-H activity fund

There will be an overall winner in each of three (3) divisions, based on opportunities for media exposure (see Groupings of Counties for Awards by media outlet below).

  • Division I – Counties with no more than two media outlets (radio/newspaper)
  • Division II – Counties with three to four media outlets (radio/newspaper)
  • Division III – Counties with five or more media outlets (radio/newspaper)

Each county chairperson’s activities will be judged against only those counties in their designated group. Only radio stations or newspapers based in your county can be used. Exceptions can be made requesting special permission for SUDIA.

For this contest’s purposes, commercial radio stations as well as commercial newspapers are counted as media. A station having both AM and FM broadcasts, but under the same ownership, will be treated as one station. If you believe your county is in the wrong category, please contact the SUDIA office immediately so we can change your category if necessary. 

  • Division I (Counties with two or fewer media) – Bedford, Benton, Bledsoe, Cannon, Carter, Cheatham, Chester, Clay, Crockett, Decatur, DeKalb, Fayette, Grainger, Greene, Grundy, Hancock, Haywood, Henderson, Hickman, Houston, Humphreys, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Lake, Lewis, Loudon, McNairy, Meigs, Monroe, Moore, Morgan, Perry, Pickett, Polk, Rhea, Roane, Robertson, Sequatchie, Smith, Stewart, Tipton, Trousdale, Unicoi, Union, Van Buren, Wayne, Weakley and White ion, Van Buren, Wayne, Weakley and White Van Buren, Wayne, Weakley and White
  • Division II (Counties with three to four media) – Anderson, Blount, Bradley, Campbell, Carroll, Claiborne, Cocke, Cumberland, Dickson, Dyer, Fentress, Franklin, Giles, Hamblen, Hardeman, Hardin, Hawkins, Henry, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Lincoln, Macon, Marion, Marshall, Maury, McMinn, Montgomery, Obion, Overton, Putnam, Rutherford, Scott, Sevier and Warren
  • Division III Counties with five or more media) – Coffee, Davidson, Gibson, Hamilton, Knox, Madison, Shelby, Sullivan, Sumner, Washington, Williamson and Wilson