Knoxville Spring Cattle Show Results

Share on

Claudia Baney, Extension Specialist

The 2016 Knoxville Spring Junior Cattle Exposition was the 82nd consecutive year for this event. This year, 77 4-H and FFA members from 22 Tennessee counties exhibited 136 head of cattle at the Tennessee Valley Fairgrounds on April 21-22. These 4-H and FFA members competed in the exhibition of cattle, as well as competitions in showmanship, premier exhibitor and skillathon. The judge this year was Mike Meyer from Cynthiana,

Kentucky. Results are as follows.

Senior Showmanship

  • First place: Samantha Roberts, McMinn County
  • Second place: Sadie Conley, Hamblen County

Junior High Showmanship

  • First place: Kendra Cornelius, McMinn County
  • Second place: Eli Mundy, Claiborne County

Junior Showmanship

  • First place: Kylie Cornelius, McMinn County
  • Second place: Walker Housley, Rhea County

Market Steer Show

  • Division I Champion: Chance Bow, Cumberland County
  • Division I Reserve Champion: Lexi Stout, Cumberland County
  • Division II Champion: Chelsey Harvey, Claiborne County
  • Division II Reserve Champion: Bryce Collins, Anderson County
  • Division III Champion: Samantha Roberts, McMinn County
  • Division III Reserve Champion: Austin Akens, Monroe County
  • Division IV Champion: Ashley Emery, Meigs County
  • Division IV Reserve Champion: Gage Latham, McMinn County
  • Grand Champion: Chelsey Harvey, Claiborne County
  • Reserve Champion: Samantha Roberts, McMinn County

County Group of Three Steers:

  • First place: McMinn County
  • Second place: Claiborne County
  • Third place: Cumberland County

Commercial Heifer Show

  • Champion: Jenna Holder, Blount County
  • Reserve Champion: Kylie Cornelius, McMinn County
  • Champion Farm Bred: Clay Owen, Lincoln County
  • Reserve Champion Farm Bred: Kendra Sellers, Knox County

Registered Heifer Show

  • Angus Champion: Samantha Roberts, McMinn County
  • Angus Reserve Champion: Cammie Lindsey, Sevier County
  • Angus Champion Bred-by-Exhibitor: Katie Whitted, Meigs County
  • Angus Reserve Champion Bred-by-Exhibitor: Kendra Sellers, Knox County
  • Gelbvieh Champion: Will Waters, Blount County
  • Gelbvieh Reserve Champion: Brett Asbury, Claiborne County
  • Hereford Champion: Sadie Conley, Hamblen County
  • Hereford Reserve Champion: Sorrell Martin, Lincoln County
  • Hereford Champion Bred-by-Exhibitor: Sadie Conley, Hamblen County
  • Hereford Reserve Champion Bred-by-Exhibitor: Sorrell Martin, Lincoln County
  • Shorthorn Champion: Samantha Roberts, McMinn County
  • Shorthorn Reserve Champion: Eli Mundy, Claiborne County
  • Shorthorn Champion Bred-by-Exhibitor: Jana Owen, Lincoln County
  • Shorthorn Reserve Champion Bred-by-Exhibitor: Emily Johnson, Loudon County
  • Simmental Champion: Samantha Roberts, McMinn County
  • Simmental Reserve Champion: Walker Housley, Rhea County
  • All Other Breeds Champion: Ashely Emery, Meigs County
  • All Other Breeds Reserve Champion: Jacob Young, Grainger County
  • All Other Breeds Champion Bred-by-Exhibitor: Kody Anderson, Bledsoe County

County Group of Heifers

  • First Place : McMinn County B
  • Second Place: Hamblen County
  • Third Place: McMinn County C

Outstanding County Exhibit: Claiborne County
Crosby Murray Award: McMinn County

9th – 12th Grade Skillathon

  1. Jana Owen, Lincoln County, 97 points
  2. Kendall Martin, Lincoln County, 97 points
  3. Sorrell Martin, Lincoln County, 86 points
  4. Heath Quick, Shelby County, 83 points
  5. Emily Johnson, Loudon County, 81 points

7th and 8th Grade Skillathon

  1. Blake Walker, Bledsoe County, 90 points
  2. Kendra Sellers, Knox County, 89 points
  3. Grayce Bow, Cumberland County, 89 points
  4. Sarah Lott, Cumberland County, 88 points
  5. Brett Asbury, Claiborne County, 88 points

4th – 6th Grade Skillathon

  1. Walker Housley, Rhea County, 100 points
  2. Caroline Garrell, Marshall County, 89 points
  3. Kyra White, Macon County, 84 points
  4. Ryan Dunivan, Lincoln County, 83 points
  5. Gage Latham, McMinn County, 80 points

Premier Exhibitor 9th – 12th Grades

  1. Kendall Martin, Lincoln County
  2. Jana Owen, Lincoln County
  3. Samantha Roberts, McMinn County
  4. Emily Johnson, Loudon County
  5. Sadie Conley, Hamblen County

7th – 8th Grades

  1. Kendra Cornelius, McMinn County
  2. Grayce Bow, Cumberland County
  3. Brett Asbury, Claiborne County
  4. Blake Walker, Bledsoe County
  5. Sarah Lott, Claiborne County

4th – 6th Grades

  1. Walker Housley, Rhea County
  2. Caroline Garrell, Marshall County
  3. Kyra White, Macon County
  4. Gage Latham, McMinn County
  5. Breyer Bow, Cumberland County

Winners of the Premier Exhibitor contest were awarded $500 sponsored by Farm Cred- it Mid-America and the Knoxville Livestock Auction Center

Thank you to all our exhibitors, parents, Extension staff, agriculture teachers and volunteers who made the show such a success!   A special thank you to all the show sponsors: Full results can be found online at:

Knoxville Chamber Agribusiness Committee Tennessee Valley Fairgrounds
The City of Knoxville
Farm Credit Mid America
Knoxville Livestock Auction Center
Food City
Tennessee Farmers Co-op
Jack Murray Family
Crossings Animal Hospital East Tennessee Angus Association

East Tennessee Polled Hereford Assoc.
M and W Farm
Kinsley Gardens
Bayer Animal Health
Aberlea Farm
Knox Farmers Co-op
Valley Farmers Co-op
Knoxville Seed and Greenhouse Supply
Bo Brown Company
East Tennessee Livestock Center